EXCEPTIONAL VINEYARD

Beginning with the Bouzy vineyards that originally belonged to founder Philippe Clicquot, subsequent generations - and more particularly Madame Clicquot - gradually built up the Veuve Clicquot property through determination, intuition and acumen to make it one of the foremost vineyards in all of Champagne.

The Veuve Clicquot vineyards cover 393 hectares of land belonging to Veuve Clicquot to supply grapes to the House. It spreads over the very best Champagne growth areas: 12 of the 17 Grands Crus and 18 of the 44 Premiers Crus. The vineyards boast an exceptional average classification of close to 96%, a ranking that is based on the winegrowing properties of the terroir and the quality of the grapes produced.

The vines are mostly planted on the hillside where the soil is the shallowest and exposure to the sun is at a maximum.

Discover our vineyard

THE CELLARS

Who was the first to think of using the old quarries to stock champagne bottles? Although it is difficult to say, Veuve Clicquot did take advantage of the opportunity to increase cellaring space for its wines. In 1909, the House bought some magnificent chalk cellars, located on the Saint-Nicaise hills, which today enjoy new life as ageing cellars. A labyrinth of shadow and light, pale walls scored by the marks of their creators, these chalk cellars serve as a silent host to the very best vintages.... Stretching over more than 24 kilometres under the Champagne soil, the chalk tunnels form a monument in tribute to the House. It is here that visitors from the world over come to discover the history and savoir-faire of Veuve Clicquot.

Visit our cellars

THE HÔTEL DU MARC

Nestled in the heart of Reims, the Hôtel du Marc is the epitome of the French art de vivre for honoured visitors who come from the four corners of the world to discover the wines and history of the Veuve Clicquot Ponsardin House. Madame Clicquot originally purchased the land in 1822 with the intention of installing cellars before finally deciding to donate it to her faithful business partner Edouard Werlé. He built his family home here in 1840, where he lived until his death in 1884. The Hôtel du Marc then became the residence of the company directors, where they traditionally welcome agents and customers from around the world.

Veuve Clicquot - We are Clicquot

WE ARE CLICQUOT

EPISODE #8 : Olivier Livoir, Hospitality Hôtel du Marc
EPISODE #8 : Olivier Livoir, Hospitality Hôtel du Marc

Olivier Livoir is the Hospitality Manager for Veuve Clicquot and its properties. Born in Reims, he insures a warm Champagne welcome to our prestigious guests from around the world. Olivier organizes personalized visits, lunches and dinners, providing guests with the unforgettable Veuve Clicquot experience. As host and ambassador to the Maison, he conveys the heritage of Veuve Clicquot, and of French culture. Discover Olivier’s story.

Discover more episodes on our Youtube Channel Discover more episodes on our Youtube Channel

MANOIR DE VERZY

Set among the vineyards on the Montagne de Reims, the Manoir de Verzy has belonged to Veuve Clicquot Ponsardin since the late 19th century. Originally home to the vineyard director, it serves today to welcome select guests of the House. Overlooking a lovely rose garden, it offers one of the most breathtaking views of the Champagne region. Tastings of the best House vintages as well as champagne luncheons are regularly held in the dining rooms, but once the weather permits, the pastoral charm of the garden with its hundred-year-old Atlas cedar, hedge-lined paths and magnificent roses invite guests to enjoy breakfast and picnic lunches out in the open air. The garden is adjoined to a parcel of vineyard dedicated to the laureates of the Veuve Clicquot Business Woman Award.

Create an event

PAVILLON DE MUIRE

Classified as a historical monument in 1920, this majestic lodge has belonged to the Veuve Clicquot House since 1846. Built in 1565 by Lord Nicolas Noël de Muire, it is one of the rare Renaissance buildings in the Champagne region. With a view to extending the Hôtel du Marc to take advantage of the underground cellars that he had just acquired, Edouard Werlé purchased the Pavillon de Muire in 1846. Thanks to its facade of hexagonal-shaped stones, the Pavillon de Muire is affectionately known to the local population as the "Maison aux petits pâtés" (house of small patties). The interior, with its ceiling beams, monumental fireplaces and varnished hexagonal floor tiles, calls to mind the palaces of Florence.

PAVILLON DU PATRIMOINE HISTORIQUE

The “Pavillon du Patrimoine Historique” is dedicated to conserving the Veuve Clicquot Ponsardin archives. All business records since the House was founded are stored here. This invaluable heritage is a precious source of information on the champagne-making process, business dealings and, more generally, the history of Reims and the Champagne region. In this heritage site can be found a number of real treasures such as the cellar notebooks in which the Cellar Masters recorded the secrets behind their blends. The Heritage House also boasts a library in which to consult these archives. The objective of the House of Clicquot is to preserve its heritage as well as to share it. Every effort is made to ensure that the archives are kept in pristine condition while making them accessible to the public. Open to all by appointment and with respect of certain rules, the Pavillon du Patrimoine Historique also has a heritage expert on hand to help visitors with their research.